Arkansas State Independent Living Council

– Our ARSILC Team –

The Arkansas State Independent Living Council is a non-profit organization promoting independent living for people with disabilities. The ARSILC has a Board of Directors comprised of Governor appointed Arkansans, the majority with disabilities.

Dr. FranSha’ Anderson, Executive Director ARSILC

Dr. FranSha Anderson is the current Executive Director for the Arkansas State Independent Living Council (AR SILC) located in Little Rock, Arkansas and has served as the E.D for the past 9 years. She works diligently to promote independent living and equal access and inclusion for those that live with disabilities. 

She holds a Master of Business Administration (MBA) from Harding University. She received a Doctorate Divinity in 2019 and is currently completing her doctorate in Education. 

FranSha’s work in Arkansas has made a difference for individuals who live with a disability.    In her current tenure, Dr. Anderson and her team coined the first Cross-Disability event in the State of Arkansas having a yearly event that takes place at the State Capitol.  The Arkansas SILC under FranSha’s leadership is the first to coordinate a “Mock Election” for individuals with disabilities at the Arkansas State Capitol. This event is highly attended when held at the state capitol and now is held virtual due to the pandemic. 

During Arkansas’ recent 93rd General Assembly, FranSha’ was instrumental in educating lead senators and representatives on the importance of individuals with disabilities being included related to bills that affect their everyday living.  This one advocacy efforts and determination helped with disability inclusive language to be included in a joint resolution pertaining to the opioid crisis. Sha’ works tireless related to voting access and inclusion for individuals with disabilities.  

She is the mother of two adult daughters who are deaf, one daughter who is 9 and a son who is 7.  She is also the Gi-Gi to two grandsons. 

Email Me

Board of Directors

The Arkansas State Independent Living Council

Leigh Garvin


Thomas J Connell


Twain O Cunningham


Kimberly Gatewood


Shalene Caple

Darnell Rice

Anne Creekmore


Immediate Past Chair

Erica Gracer-Gates


LaKesha Whitman


Center for Independent Living Representative

Carl Daughtery


Arkansas Rehabilitation Services

Dr. Cassondra Williams - Stokes


Division of Services for the Blind

Wanda Hamilton


Powered by Lapero